The Research Camp 2023 is getting closer and closer. We are delighted that eight scientists from five different faculties will be taking to the stage at this year's Science Slam event to inspire the audience with creative presentations about their research. The topics of the contributions reflect the broad diversity of our university. You can even expect a musical performance. For the first time, a faculty prize is awarded as a challenge cup, which must be defended next year. Be curious! 

The following scientists will be competing for the faculty prize:

  • Tommy Ender & Vicky Shettigondahalli Ekanthalu: "Turning s**t into gold"
    Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences | Waste and Material Flow Management
  • Vincenz Crone: "Life without a pulse"
    Faculty of Mechanical Engineering and Marine Technologies | Chair of Fluid Mechanics
  • Kathalina-Viktoria Raabe: "On the trail of the secret language of sea lions?"
    Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences | Institute of Biology | Seal Research Center Hohe Düne
  • Anna Hanf & Jonathan Hanf: "Feeling home again"
    Faculty of Arts and Humanities | Institute of Vocational Education & Department of Educational Sciences
  • Carsten Tautorat & Kerstin Lebahn: "I see something you don't see"
    Rostock University Medicine | Institute for Biomedical Engineering

We cordially invite you to support the representatives of your faculty!

Visit us on 23.11.2023 at 15:20 p.m. in front of the stage in the Konrad-Zuse-Haus. Your applause counts!

Corina Reinheckel & Fabio Silingardi
Graduate Academy of the University of Rostock


How to present your own research topic within three minutes in an easy, illustrative and entertaining way?

Accept the challenge and register for this year´s Science Slam as part of the Science Camp.

Up to seven young academics have the opportunity to climb up the stage courageously and to win the audience over their research.

Everything is allowed! Let your creativity run wild and connect your research with entertainment. Take a step into scientific communication.

In the run-up to the Science Slam, the participants get the chance to prepare for their appearance on stage within a workshop that is held exclusively for that purpose.

At the end, the audience decides for a winner.

What awards await the winning contribution? The faculties receive a challenge cup, the participants a book voucher worth € 100.

The Science Slam is organized by the Graduate Academy of the University of Rostock. To prepare their contribution, the Graduate Academy offers all slammers free participation in a two-day training workshop. The workshop is expected to take place on November 03 and 10, 2022. The workshop will be led by Ms. Kira Ludwig (Redekunst und Demokratie - Rhetorik-Seminare, Coaching, Präsentationen).

The Science Slam is awarded as a faculty prize. In the preliminary stages, the faculties are called upon to submit an contribution via the Pro-Rector for Research, Talent Development and Equal Opportunities. We ask interested parties to contact the faculties.

It is worth participating!

What has winner taken from the participation in the Science Slam? What were the biggest challenges and hurdles? What can winner give to future participants as a tip? For more insights you can read the interviews with the winners.

The winner

2022: Dr. Steffi Falk, Universitätsmedizin Rostock, Klinik für Unfall-, Hand- und Wiederherstellungschirurgie, Chirurgische Klinik und Poliklinik (left); Ibrahim Zawra, Fakultät für Informatik und Elektrotechnik, Institut für Gerätesysteme und Schaltungstechnik (2th from left)

2021: Dana Dohr, Universitätsmedizin Rostock, Klinik und Poliklinik für Hals-Nasen-Ohrenheilkunde, Kopf- und Halschirurgie "Otto Körner" (3th from left)

2019: Johann Volzke, University Medicine Rostock, Core Facility for Cell Sorting and Analysis (3th from right)

2018: Tanja van Alphen, Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, Institute of Chemistry (2th from right). to the interview (in German)

2017: Robert Ott, Institute for ImplantTechnology and Bio Materials (right). to the interview

Please feel free to contact us with any questions or suggestions at