Scholarship fund for the promotion of gender equality in science and academia

(internal university call)

The funding is provided for female scientists in early career phases who are members of the University of Rostock and who are aiming for a scientific qualification at the local university.

Since the Professorinnenprogramm III aims to bring more women into top academic positions, only women can be funded with money from this program, according to the funder and project sponsor. 

Duration and scope oft he funding

The scholarship is provided for fellowships to complete post-doctoral and doctoral degrees. Post-doctoral fellows can receive funding for up to 12 months, and doctoral fellows can receive funding for up to 6 months.

The funding rates of the scholarships are:

  • PhD: 1.200 €/ month
  • Post-doc: 1,750 €/ month
  • Child supplement: 400 €/ month (first child) or 100 €/ month (each additional child)

The granting of a scholarship is subject to the availability of the promised funding from the Professorinnenprogramm III of the federal and state governments. Legal recourse is excluded. There is no legal claim to the granting of a scholarship.

Application deadlines

The call for applications for this scholarship fund is issued twice a year. The application deadline for the current round of calls is August 15, 2021. The earliest possible start of funding is October 2021.

Applications based on acute social hardship are not bound by the specified application deadlines.

further information

Objective

To support qualifying female scientists in early career phases, the University of Rostock announces a scholarship program for postdocs and doctoral candidates within the framework of the Professorinnenprogramm III of the German federal and state governments.

 

Application and eligibility criteria

Incoming applications are first examined from a formal point of view and for their likelihood of success. The Rectorate decides on the allocation of funds based on the proposal of the Commission for Equal Opportunity and Diversity. As a rule, no reasons are given for rejections.

Funding is only possible if it can be proven that no other funding is available for the qualification project. Multiple funding from different internal university funds is excluded. Simultaneous receipt of another scholarship, employment of more than 10 hours per week in research and teaching or more than five hours per week in other employment or receipt of unemployment benefits I and II are not compatible with the scholarship.

If a fellowship under this program has been approved for a shorter period, the submission of a follow-up application is possible until the funding period has been exhausted, with an explanation of the requirement.

Funding of scholarships for the completion of the doctorate can only be granted if it is an initial supervision by a supervisor of the University of Rostock.

Prerequisites for awarding

Dissemination of the application documents/ publication of the promotion

The documents submitted by the applicants will be passed on within the decision-making bodies involved. The applicants expressly agree to their name and their research or funding topic being mentioned in the context of reporting on the female professors program at the University of Rostock. This includes, for example, mention on the homepage of the university and in other press articles.

Acknowledgement of the eligibility criteria, withdrawal and scholarship agreement

By submitting an application, applicants bindingly agree to the stated eligibility criteria. They are free to withdraw their application or cancel or return a grant at any time. Such withdrawal must be made in writing to the Chair of the Equal Opportunity and Diversity Commission.

Only the mutual signing of a scholarship agreement constitutes a commitment to receive the grant. Thus, the conclusion of a scholarship agreement between the applicant and the University of Rostock is a binding prerequisite for receiving a scholarship/funding.

Payment period

The scholarship will be transferred to the account to be specified in the funding case on the 15th of the respective month. The earliest funding month is October 2021.

Repayment

If a funding commitment is obtained on the basis of incorrect information, the scholarship agreement can be terminated immediately by the University of Rostock. The amounts paid up to that point must be repaid in full within three months. Grossly negligent behavior that endangers the completion of the qualification project will also lead to the premature termination of the funding.

Evaluation and reporting obligations

The grant agreement to be concluded also includes the obligation of the grantees to participate in the evaluation of the program as well as to submit a final report. The final report contains a brief outline of the achieved work status and funding goal. The report (max. 1 page) must be submitted no later than one month after the end of the funding and signed by the grantee and the supervisor of the research/qualification project.

Gleichstellungsförderung in der Wissenschaft: Stipendienförderfonds

Gefördert werden vornehmlich Postdoktorandinnen, aber auch Doktorandinnen, die Mitglied der Universität Rostock sind und eine wissenschaftliche Qualifizierung an der hiesigen Universität anstreben.

Dauer und Umfang der Förderung

Gefördert werden Stipendien zum Abschluss von Habilitationen und Promotionen bis zur Einreichung der Qualifizierungsarbeit. Post-Docs können eine Förderung von bis zu 12 Monaten erhalten, Doktorandinnen können bis zu 6 Monaten gefördert werden.

Die Fördersätze der Stipendien sind:

  • Promovendin: 1.200 €/ Monat
  • Post-Doc: 1.750 €/ Monat
  • Kinderzuschlag: 400 €/ Monat (erstes Kind) bzw. 100 €/ Monat (jedes weitere Kind)

Die Gewährung eines Stipendiums steht unter Vorbehalt und ist abhängig von der Verfügbarkeit der zugesagten Fördermittel aus dem Professorinnenprogramm III des Bundes und der Länder. Der Rechtsweg ist ausgeschlossen. Ein rechtlicher Anspruch auf Gewährung einer Förderung besteht nicht.

Bewerbungsfristen

Die Ausschreibung erfolgt zweimal jährlich:

Für eine Förderung ab Februar ist die Bewerbungsfrist 01.10 - 15.11.

Für eine Förderung ab August ist die Bewerbungsfrist 01.04. - 15.05.

Antragstellungen aufgrund besonderer Dringlichkeit sind nicht an die angegebenen Bewerbungsfristen gebunden und können jederzeit gestellt werden. Die Bearbeitungszeit beträgt in diesem Fall sechs bis acht Wochen.

Bei Fragen beachten Sie bitte auch die FAQ's zum Professorinnenprogramm III an der Universität Rostock.

weitere Informationen

Zielsetzung

Um die Gleichstellung im Wissenschaftsbetrieb nachhaltig voranzubringen hat sich die Universität Rostock zum Ziel gesetzt, mehr wissenschaftliche Spitzenpositionen mit Frauen zu besetzten. Der Stipendienförderfonds soll Wissenschaftlerinnen in frühen Karrierephasen in diesem Sinne in ihrer wissenschaftlichen Qualifizierung unterstützen.

Antragstellung und Förderkriterien

Eingehende Anträge werden zunächst in formaler Hinsicht und auf ihre Erfolgsaussicht geprüft. Über die Vergabe der Mittel entscheidet das Rektorat auf Vorschlag der Kommission für Chancengleichheit und Vielfalt.

Ablehnungen werden grundsätzlich nicht begründet.

Eine Förderung ist nur möglich, wenn nachweislich keine andere Finanzierung für das Qualifikationsvorhaben vorhanden ist. Eine Mehrfachförderung aus verschiedenen inneruniversitären Mitteln ist ausgeschlossen. Der gleichzeitige Erhalt eines anderen Stipendiums, eine Erwerbstätigkeit im Umfang von mehr als 10 Wochenstunden in Forschung und Lehre oder mehr als fünf Wochenstunden in einer anderweitigen Tätigkeit oder der Bezug von Arbeitslosengeld I und II sind mit dem Stipendium nicht vereinbar.

Wenn ein Stipendium im Rahmen dieses Programms für einen kürzeren Zeitraum bewilligt wurde, ist die Stellung eines Folgeantrages bis zur Ausschöpfung des Förderzeitraums unter Darlegung des Erfordernisses möglich.

Die Förderung von Stipendien zum Abschluss der Promotion kann nur erfolgen, wenn es sich um eine Erstbetreuung durch eine*n Betreuer*in der Universität Rostock handelt.

Voraussetzungen zur Vergabe der Stipendien

Weitergabe der Antragsunterlagen/Veröffentlichung der Förderung

Die von den Bewerberinnen eingereichten Unterlagen werden innerhalb der beteiligten Entscheidungsgremien weitergegeben. Die Geförderten erklären sich ausdrücklich mit einer Nennung ihres Namens und ihres Forschungsthemas im Rahmen der Berichterstattung über das Professorinnenprogramm an der Universität Rostock einverstanden. Dazu zählt bspw. die Erwähnung auf der Homepage der Hochschule und in sonstigen Presseartikeln.

Anerkennung der Förderkriterien, Rücktritt und Stipendienvereinbarung

Mit der Einreichung eines Antrags erklären sich die Bewerberinnen verbindlich mit den genannten Förderkriterien einverstanden. Es steht ihnen jederzeit frei, ihren Antrag zurückzuziehen bzw. eine Förderung abzubrechen oder zurückzugeben. Ein solcher Rücktritt muss schriftlich gegenüber der Vorsitzenden der Kommission für Chancengleichheit und Vielfalt erfolgen.

Erst die beiderseitige Unterzeichnung einer Stipendienvereinbarung stellt eine Zusage zum Erhalt der Förderung dar. Damit ist der Abschluss einer Stipendienvereinbarung zwischen der Antragstellerin und der Universität Rostock verbindliche Voraussetzung zum Erhalt eines Stipendiums/ einer Förderung.

Zahlungszeitraum

Das Stipendium wird zum 15. des jeweiligen Monats auf das im Förderfall anzugebende Konto überwiesen. Frühster Fördermonat ist Oktober 2021.

Rückzahlung

Wird auf der Grundlage fälschlich gemachter Angaben eine Förderzusage erwirkt, kann der Stipendienvertrag unverzüglich seitens der Universität Rostock gekündigt werden. Die bis dahin gezahlten Beträge sind innerhalb von drei Monaten vollständig zurück zu zahlen. Auch grob fahrlässiges Verhalten, das den Abschluss des Qualifizierungsvorhabens gefährdet, führt zum vorzeitigen Abbruch der Förderung.

Evaluation und Berichtspflicht

Die abzuschließende Stipendienvereinbarung umfasst auch die Verpflichtung der Geförderten zur Teilnahme an der Evaluation des Programms sowie zu einer abschließenden Berichterstattung. Der Abschlussbericht enthält eine kurze Skizzierung des erreichten Arbeitsstandes und Förderziels. Der Bericht (max. 1 Seite) ist spätestens einen Monat nach Auslaufen der Förderung einzureichen und von der Stipendiatin sowie der Betreuerin/ dem Betreuer des Forschungs-/ Qualifizierungsvorhabens zu unterzeichnen.